Home > About Us

About Us

The Council

Parish Councils seek to improve community wellbeing and provide better services at a local level. Their activities fall into three main categories: representing the local community; delivering services to meet local needs; striving to improve quality of life and community wellbeing.

The Council serves, and makes decisions on behalf of, the villages and aims to keep everyone informed about important issues and on-going projects. There are seven councillors - they are committed to the wellbeing of Culford, West Stow and Wordwell and give their time, effort and resources without financial reward.


Councillors are members of the community, elected by the community. Elections take place every four years and the last election was in May 2019. There are seven council seats however, there is one vacancy following the appointment of Cllr Clay as Clerk to the Council which required him to resign as a councillor. If you are resident in the Parish, please consider whether you might be able to support your community in this way.

Members represent all residents in the Parish but Councillors are designated to take a particular interest and care for the village shown after their name in brackets:

Cllr Joy Childs - 01284 728375 (Chair) (Culford) 

Cllr David Fisher - 01284 728 768 (Vice-Chair) (Culford)

Cllr Bruce Murdoch - 01284 728 554 (Culford)

Cllr Rachael Salt - (Culford)

Cllr Paul Luke - 01284 729 654 (West Stow)

Cllr Myrtle McQueen (01284 728 526) (Wordwell)

The Clerk to the Council is Maximilian Clay (0777 595 6515 or email)


Other Local Representatives

County Councillor - Rebecca Hopfensperger

District Councillor - Susan Glossop

MP - Matt Hancock